I already paid to renew my domain. Why did I receive this notice?

Occasionally customers who have already been billed for their domain(s) renewals receive the email notification show below, warning them that their renewals are upcoming.

This notification is understandably confusing. However, there is good news: you can ignore it.

Some time ago, there were some industry-wide policy changes from ICANN regarding renewal schedules and notices. The result is that they imposed their own notification schedule onto registrars independent of companies like us. This occasionally results in notifications arriving out of order. (Hence the confusion when you've already paid for your renewal.)

We have included an example of one of these "ERRP notices" below.

As long as your domain remains set to auto-renew, and you have up-to-date payment details in your account, your renewal will be processed on schedule.

You will receive an emailed notification and receipt when the renewal billing has been processed and your domain will be renewed on time. You won't be billed again and the domain is not at risk of expiring.

If you're not sure whether your renewal payment was completed, or if your domain is set to auto-renew, you can easily check that in your domain's dashboard when you login, or you can ask us and we can let you know.

ERRP notice