How do I cancel/delete my account?

To be cancelled accounts must be empty of domains and have no active transactions

Please note that accounts with any active domains, pre-orders, or open transactions like renewals cannot be cancelled immediately. We can set a flag to cancel the account once domains are removed and open transactions cancelled or completed.

If you have domains in your account, they must be transferred out of the account, or expire and be deleted before the account can be closed.
 

Transferring active domains out of your account

For further information about transferring domains: How do I transfer my domain to another registrar?

Specific information about transferring gTLDs: How to transfer your gTLD to iwantmyname


Cancelling or converting pre-orders

Pre-orders must be billed and converted to active domains (once launched), then the domain(s) must be transferred out of the account, or the pre-orders must be cancelled before launch.

You can access pre-orders by logging in to your account and going directly to the Pre-orders page, or by clicking on Pre-orders in the top navigation menu.
 

Cancelling or completing renewals

Open domain renewals must be completed, then the renewed domain(s) transferred out of the account, or cancelled, then the expired domains deleted.

To cancel a renewal (turn off auto-renewal), log in to your iwantmyname account, then click on Domains in the main dashboard menu. On the next page, click on your domain name. On the following page, to the right of Next Billing, click cancel. That will enable your domain to expire at the end of its current billing cycle.


Deleting expired domains from your account

gTLDs will be deleted from accounts after passing out of the grace period (about 45 days after expiry). ccTLDs all have their own rules on how long the grace period lasts (if they have one at all). Check with us for more specific information.
 

We have to delete the account for you

At present, accounts cannot be cancelled by the account holder. Also, cancellations requests must be authenticated. To request an account cancellation, please login to your iwantmyname account, then send us a request via our support form.

We will cancel the account for you and notify you when it has been completed.